Alumni Association Executive Board

Executive President: Earl B. Ettienne, BSc. Pharm, MBA, LP.D., RPh


Dr. Earl Ettienne is a licensed pharmacist, pharmacy and healthcare executive, researcher and educator. He holds a degree in Pharmacy from the Howard University College of Pharmacy, a Residency Certificate in Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy from The Mt. Sinai Medical Center, New York, a Masters in Business Administration from Loyola University, Maryland and a Doctorate in Law and Policy from Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts. He is currently the Director of Graduate Programs and Industry Partnerships and a tenured  Associate Professor in the Department of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy Sciences at the Howard University College of Pharmacy, serves as the Co-chair for the University’s Institutional Review Board, is published, and is currently developing innovative programs at the graduate level in pharmacy surrounding genomics, policy, and regulatory affairs.


His impact has been felt in the community, where he sat on the Economic Advisory Council for Washington DC, the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee for Washington DC, the Maryland Health Quality and Cost Council Cultural Competency Workgroup, testified before Congress on Medicare Part D, representing the Chain Drug Industry, advised the U.S. Vice President on race relations in the era of George Floyd, and he currently sits on the Academy Health, Health Services Research Information Advisory Committee. 


Dr. Ettienne is married to his best friend, Dr. Suzette Ettienne, a Howard alum, for the past 28 years while being the father to their three amazing children Lerae, Ethan, and Caitlyn.

Executive Vice President: Pauline Guthrie, B.S., PharmD


Dr. Guthrie started her career as a pharmacy technician at MedStar, Washington Hospital Center (MWHC) and today she is one of the Manager/Clinical Coordinators at this hospital. She is in charge of Oncology, the Emergency Department, NICU and Women and Infant services. She completed a Bachelors of Science in Pharmacy at the Howard University College of Pharmacy and a Doctorate in Pharmacy at the University of Maryland in Baltimore.


Dr. Guthrie serves as a preceptor and mentor for pharmacy students, residents, as well as new pharmacists in the department. She is an integral part of the interviewing, selection, and training process of all pharmacists and incoming residents at MWHC. She has worked with many residents in research projects. Dr. Guthrie continuously prepares and present continuing education programs for MedStar. She worked as an adjunct professor at Catholic University of America, School of Nursing where she lectured in pharmacology. Dr. Guthrie is presently the vice-president for Howard University College of Pharmacy Alumni Association (HUCOP) and chair for the annual fundraising gala. She is a member of ACCP, ASHP and WMSHP. She assists with the interviewing process for incoming students for the College of Pharmacy and is an active youth leader in her church community.

Executive Treasurer: Kimberly Rains, PharmD

Executive Treasurer: Kimberly Rains, PharmD

Kimberly Rains, PharmD hails from Portsmouth, Virginia.  She received her Bachelors of Science in Chemistry from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University in Greensboro, North Carolina in 1994 and received her PharmD in 2001. She completed a Managed Care Practice Residency in 2002 at Kaiser Permanente and began a career serving in many supervisory roles including Area Pharmacy Operations Manager. She currently serves as a Captain in the United States Public Health Service Commissioned Corps (USPHS) and is stationed at the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in Silver Spring, Maryland where she is the Associate Director for Regulatory Affairs.


Captain Rains is an avid reader who loves to travel to the beautiful island of Anguilla.  She enjoys mentoring and spending time with her husband and young adult children. She enjoys community outreach as an active member of the Fort Washington Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. 

Executive Secretary: Johnny Yoko-Uzomah, B.S., PharmD

Dr. Johnny Yoko-Uzomah was born and raised in San Francisco, California. He received his Bachelors of Science in Biology and Minor in Chemistry from California State University, East Bay in Hayward, California. He received his PharmD from Howard University College of Pharmacy in 2018 and is currently a Pharmacy Operations Supervisor at Children’s National Hospital in the District of Columbia. He continues to give back to the Howard University pharmacy students through his active involvement as the offsite advisor and mentor for the Delta Kappa Chapter of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, Inc. He also serves as President for the District of Columbia Graduate Chapter of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, Inc. Dr. Johnny Yoko-Uzomah gives back to the community as an active member of The Theta Rho Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Executive Member At Large: Pamela Allen Meadows, PharmD/MBA

Dr. Pamela Allen Meadows completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Florida and later received her Doctorate of Pharmacy degree from Howard University while simultaneously pursuing a Master’s in Business Administration (Public Health Concentration).


Dr. Meadows completed a Medical Affairs residency with MedImmune, an Astra Zeneca company, and worked with Medco Health Solutions, Eli Lilly Pharmaceutical Company, and Xcenda Pharmaceutical Consulting firm. She has worked in patient safety, medical information, and consulted for major pharmacy and medical device companies for over the past 10 years. Currently, Dr. Meadows is the Senior Manager of Medical Device Reporting at ConvaTec, a medical device and pharmaceutical company previously owned by Bristol Myers Squibb. 


Dr. Allen Meadows has a passion for working in the community. She is a proud member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Incorporated and currently serves as the Primary Advisor for the Delta chapter at Bennett College in Greensboro, North Carolina. She has previously served on the executive committee of the Howard University Pharmacy Alumni Association and was recently awarded the 2017 Howard University Pharmacy Legacy Award.

Executive Member At Large: CAPT Postelle Birch-Smith, Pharm.D

Executive Member At Large: CAPT Postelle Birch-Smith, Pharm.D

Captain (CAPT) Postelle Birch-Smith graduated with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Howard University, Washington, DC, in 1997. She went on to complete an ASHP accredited Pharmacy Practice Residency at Brookdale University Hospital and Medical Center, Brooklyn, NY in 1998. In addition, she has certificate for Pharmacy-based Immunization Delivery and serves as an Accredited Council of Pharmacy Education Field Reviewer.


Captain Birch-Smith serves as a Compliance Officer with the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Office of Unapproved Drugs and Labeling Compliance (OUDLC), Division of Prescription Drugs (DPD), Compounding and Pharmacy Practices Branch        in Silver Spring, Maryland. 


Providing/developing education and training programs are areas that CAPT Birch-Smith enjoys participating with above and beyond her job duties. CAPT Birch-Smith states “if there is a need, I will seek to meet that need.”  Currently, she is participating on a compounding training workgroup within CDER at FDA and recently served as lead FDA’s ACPE Provider reaccreditation team.